Home Page Forums General Discussion Moving to Japan – barrier free apartments

Viewing 1 - 5 of 5 replies
  • Author

senpai

I’ve posted here a couple of times as my medium to long term goal is to move to and live in Japan. My degree is in Computer Science (minor in Japanese) and I hope to get some experience in my home country (Australia) and saving some money before trying to move to Japan.

I have read about Josh’s story ( https://www.bbc.com/news/disability-58256722 ) and that gave me some hope that it is possible to move to Japan with a disability. I’ve also seen his apartment in a Youtube video ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KKrLQDNuMpI ) but that left me with a few questions.

I am a paraplegic and use a slide board to transfer between my wheelchair and bed. I get very little assistance from others with the exception of changing my bedding. I can’t get myself off the floor (if I fall out of my wheelchair) but this has not occurred in over three years.

I’ve been looking at “barrier free apartments” in Tokyo ( バリアフリーアパート ) but I am not sure if this is what I should really be looking for. Looking at the blueprints for these apartments I feel I would not be able to live in them the way I currently live with my disability. This leads me to two different conclusions. 1. That I am searching for the wrong thing. or 2. That people with similar disabilities to mine live with them differently in Japan.

I could talk to my OT about this but I feel it would be outside of their knowledge base.

My major concerns with these apartments is how I would use the toilet and shower facilities. Currently, I have a shower chair with one side being open. I wheel this bulky shower chair over the toilet and bend over to the open side to use manual stimulation. When I shower, I simply wheel into the shower and use a hand held shower head to bath. After my shower I dry using a towel before wheeling back to my bed and transfer to it in order to get back into my wheelchair.