Viewing 1 - 4 of 4 replies
  • Author

Valerie

Hello all,

This is my first time posting, and I’m absolutely loving all the information on the website and forums so far. I’m in the process of applying for graduate school at Tsukuba and Hitotsubashi, and I had a few questions.

1. I have a live-in caregiver that has worked with me for the past 12 years, and he is willing to travel with me. I require specialized care because of the nature of my degenerative neuromuscular disability, and we have routines and care down to a science after working together for so long. Is there a type of visa that would allow him to remain with me as my caregiver while I’m attending school?

2. My second question also has to do with my caregiver. There exists programs in the U.S. where a disabled individual can choose and provide their own caregiver rather than a nursing company providing one for them. Does anything like that exist in Japan? Would public health insurance cover that? (We are essentially wondering if it is going to fall to me to compensate him or if there exists a governmental program that will help. He has no official nursing certification.)

josh

Hi Valerie,

Great to hear of your interest to study in Japan.

1. I’m not aware of a visa that would allow for that. Visas need a sponsor (a school for academic visas, and a Japanese company for work visas). I would suggest you may be best to discuss this with your school that provides your visa. Perhaps he could enroll as a student as well?
    2. I talked to a friend, and while there were programs for direct funding of caregivers in the past, they hadn’t heard of them lately. You can sometimes get a company to hire a caregiver you want to help you. However, without a legal working or student visa, they wouldn’t be able to legally hire them.