Home Page Forums General Discussion Accessibility in built environment – searching for tips!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello!
    I am an architect from Greece currently living and working in Sweden. I am certified in accessibility in the built environment according to the swedish building regulations. I am planning to visit Japan in the end of February with a scholarship to look into how Japan deals with accessibility in public and private spaces, both for the interior and the exterior environment. My trip will last about four weeks.
    I am searching therefore someone to talk with after my arrival to get some insider thoughts and suggestions on what I should visit either as good or bad example. I will be mainly in Tokyo, but I am planning to travel also a bit towards the South.

So please contact me if anyone lives there and wishes to talk about what works good and what not when we as architects design the built environment.

Thank you very much,
    Kind Regards,
    Galini Afentoulidou

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Participant

Hello, how are you doing?

Do you have anyone in Japan who are you talking to?

Participant

Hello Galini,

My name is Mark Bookman, and I’m a visiting researcher at the University of Tokyo/PhD Candidate at the University of Pennsylvania. My work investigates the history of disability policy and movements in Japan.

I use a motorized wheelchair for most activities, and occasionally consult for the Ministry of Transportation, the Ministry of Education, as well as this site (Accessible Japan) about matters related to global accessibility.

Admittedly, I’m less familiar with the specifics of architectural codes in Japan than the history behind their promulgation, but I’d be happy to chat with you about my personal and professional experiences in the field.

You can learn more about me/my work and find my contact information on my website: bookmanresearch.com.

Cheers!

Participant